2018 Norman Foster Foundation Travelling Scholarship now open

February 16, 2018

The 2018 Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Norman Foster Foundation Travelling Scholarship opens today and welcomes applications from architecture students enrolled in schools of architecture around the world. A  grant will be awarded to one winner by a panel of judges which will include Lord Foster and RIBA President Ben Derbyshire.

Lord Foster said: ‘As a student I won a prize that allowed me to spend a summer travelling through Europe and to study first hand buildings and cities that I knew only from the pages of books. It was a revelation – liberating and exhilarating in so many ways. Today it is the privilege of the Norman Foster Foundation to support the RIBA Norman Foster Travelling Scholarship, which I hope will have a lasting legacy – offering the chance for discovery and the inspiration for exciting new work – for generations to come.’

RIBA President Ben Derbyshire said: ‘The RIBA is very grateful to the Norman Foster Foundation for its generous donation to this scholarship, which provides a unique chance for architecture students to see buildings in their context. This year, we are making the scholarship truly global by inviting 264 schools of architecture to join the 93 institutions validated by the RIBA to nominate their talented students. I would strongly encourage students to apply for this exciting opportunity.’

The deadline for submissions is Friday 20 April 2018. Further details can be downloaded from the RIBA website at www.architecture.com/fosterscholarship.

This fellowship encourages architecture students and scholars to travel anywhere in the world to pursue research on the subject of the future survival of cities and communities.

Since 2007, the Norman Foster Foundation, London has provided the following travelling fellowships:

2017   Chloe Loader, Lincoln School of Architecture and Design, UK

2016   Abel Feleke, University of Western Australia, Australia

2015   Charles Palmer, University of Sheffield, UK

2014   Moe Paxton, Bartlett, University College London, UK

2013   Sigita Burbulyte, Bath School of Architecture, UK

2012   Thomas Aquilina, Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, Scotland

2011   Sahil Bipin Deshpande, Rizvi College of Architecture, Mumbai, India

2010  Andrew Mackintosh, Scott Sutherland School of Architecture at the Robert Gordon University Aberdeen, UK

2009   Amanda Rivera, Universidad del Bío-Bío, Chile

2008   Faizan Jawed, Rizvi College of Architecture, Mumbai, India

2007   Ben Masterton-Smith, Bartlett, University College London, UK

Watch the video here.