List of the selected scholars for 2019 ‘On Cities’ Workshop announced

April 1, 2019

The list of the ten selected scholars that will participate in the 2019 ‘On Cities’ Workshop at the Norman Foster Foundation is now public.

The workshop will take place on 27 – 31 May 2019 with the support of Bloomberg Philanthropies and will be led by Luis Bettencourt, Pritzker Director of the Mansueto Institute for Urban Innovation at the University of Chicago, United States of America.

The scholars selected to participate in the workshop are the following:

  • Ms Mercedes Bidart, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, United States of America
  • Ms Yona Catrina, The Polytechnic University of Milan, Milan, Italy
  • Ms Safiya El Ghmari, Amenagement & Urbanisme National Institute, Rabat, Morocco
  • Mr Scott Lenton, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
  • Mr Frederico Leite Gonçalves, Federal University of Ceara, Fortaleza, Brazil
  • Ms Eunice Hasango Mwaka, Kenyatta University, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Ms Surjyatapa Ray Choudhury, Chandigarh College of Architecture, Chandigarh, India
  • Mr Robert Snelling, School of Design and Engineering, University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia
  • Mr Felipe Suárez Giri, University of the Republic, Montevideo, Uruguay
  • Mr Mun Ho Szeto, National University of Singapore, Singapore, Singapore

The Selection Committee has nominated the following students for the waiting list (in order):

  • Ms Priscilla Namwanje, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda
  • Mr Jorge Gabaldón Guzmán, Polytechnic University of Madrid, Madrid, Spain
  • Ms Estefanie Rosa Quisoe Salas, University of Lima, Lima, Perú
  • Mr Anton Ling, Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Copenhagen, Denmark

Provided any selected scholar fails to attend the workshop, the above students could be contacted. The Norman Foster Foundation highly appreciates all of those who have participated in the Selection Process.

Please download here the publication of minutes.