NFF Sustainability Workshop 2021

Supported by the Rolex Institute

October 18th - 22nd 2021

Open Call Selection Process

Selection Process Open Call – 37 countries, 60 universities, 91 applications

Selection Process Final Round – 10 awarded scholars

Sustainability Workshop 2021

Open Call

List of applicants' provenance - sorted by educational centre's location:

- 1. Argentina, National University of Buenos Aires
- 2. Australia, University of Melbourne
- 3. Austria, FH Kärnten University of Applied Scienceses
- 4. Austria, University of Innsbruck
- 5. Brazil, University of Campinas UNICAMP
- 6. Canada, University of Waterloo
- 7. China, University of Hong Kong
- 8. Costa Rica, University of Costa Rica
- 9. Denmark, Royal Danish Academy of Architecture
- 10. Dubai, Manipal University Dubai, 2 applications
- 11. England, University of Cambridge
- 12. England, Manchester School of Archtecture, 2 applications
- 13. England, University of Liverpool, 5 applications
- 14. England, Architectural Association
- 15. England, Cambridge University
- 16. England, University College of London
- 17. Ethiopia, Nazarbayev University
- 18. France, École Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Versailles
- 19. Germany, University of Stuttgart
- 20. Germany, Technical University of Munich
- 21. Germany, Technical University of Darmstadt
- 22. Germany, University of Kassel
- 23. Greece, Nathional Technical University of Athens
- 24. India, University Mumbai, 3 applications
- 25. India, Kamla Raheja Vidyanidhi Institute for Architecture and

Environmental Studies, 3 applications

- 26. Indonesia, Universitas Katolik Parahyangan
- 27. Israel, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, **2 applications**
- 28. Israel, Bar-Ilan University
- 29. Italy, Politecnico di Milano, 2 applications
- 30. Italy, Politecnico di Torino
- 31. Italy, University of Venice
- 32. Italy, Università degli Studi di Ferrara
- 33. Japan, University of Tokyo

- 34. Lebanon, American University of Beirut
- 35. Lebanon, Académie Libanaise des Beaux Arts
- 36. Mexico, Universidad Iberoamericana CDMX, 6 applications
- 37. Morocco, International University of Rabat, 2 applications
- 38. Netherlands, Delft University of Technology
- 39. Nigeria, Ashesi University
- 40. Pakistan, University of Engineering & Technology Abbottabad Campus
- 41. Panama, Isthmus School of Architecture and Design
- 42. Peru, University of Lima
- 43. Peru, National University of Engineering
- 44. Portugal, University of Porto
- 45. Singapore, National University of Singapore, 3 applications
- 46. South Africa, University of Cape Town
- 47. South Africa, University of the Western Cape
- 48. Spain, University of Granada, 3 applications
- 49. Spain, National Distance Education University
- 50. Spain, Universidad Politécnica de Cataluña
- 51. Spain, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, 4 applications
- 52. Spain, University of Navarra
- 53. Syria, International University for Science and Technology
- 54. USA, Harvard University, 4 applications
- 55. USA, University of Pennsylvania
- 56. USA, New York Institute of Technology
- 57. USA, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 3 applications
- 58. USA, Carnegie Mellon University
- 59. USA, University of California, Los Angeles
- 60. USA, University of California, Berkeley

Sustainability Workshop 2021

Final Round - Selected Scholars

1. After several reviews of applications, the 10 grants awarded by the Norman Foster Foundation Selection Committee are for the following students:

Mr Mohamad Ziwar Al Nouri, University of Innsbruck, Austria

Ms Heidi Au Yeung, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Mr Telmo Escapil-Inchauspé, École Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Versailles, France

Ms Laia Gemma García, Department of Architecture at the University of Ferrara, Italy

Mr Rolando Girodengo, Harvard University, United States

Ms Natasha Harkison, Harvard University, United States

Ms Immacolata Lamacchia, Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Mr Tarek Meah, University College London, United Kingdom

Mr Seyed Mobin Moussavi, University of Kassel, Germany

Ms Priscilla Namwanje, Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands

The selected scholars will be awarded a grant to participate in the Sustainability Workshop, to be held in Madrid from 18th–22nd October 2021. The NFF team will soon be in contact with further instructions.

- 2. The Selection Committee has nominated the following students for the wait list (in order):
 - 1. Ms María de Sotto, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
 - 2. Ms Kiley Feickert, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States
 - 3. Ms Hana Svatoš-Ražnjevic, University of Stuttgart, Germany
 - 4. Mr Andrés Rico, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, United States

Provided any selected scholar does not attend the Workshop, the above students may be contacted.

The status of the selected students and wait list will be reviewed on 20th September against any changes for international travel due to the evolving COVID-19 pandemic.

The Norman Foster Foundation highly appreciates all of those who have participated in the Selection Process.

Madrid, 31st August 2021

David González-Márquez General Secretary Norman Foster Foundation

3/3