RIBA opens 2019 Norman Foster Foundation Travelling Scholarship

March 7, 2019

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today opened applications for the 2019 Norman Foster Foundation Travelling Scholarship.

This fellowship encourages architecture students and scholars to travel anywhere in the world to pursue research on the subject of the future survival of cities and communities.

Applications are welcomed from students enrolled in schools of architecture around the world. A £7,000 grant will be awarded to one winner, which will be decided by a panel of judges including Lord Foster and RIBA President Ben Derbyshire.

Lord Foster said: “As a student I won a prize that allowed me to spend a summer traveling through Europe and to study first-hand buildings and cities that I knew only from the pages of books. It was a revelation – liberating and exhilarating in so many ways. Today it is the privilege of the Norman Foster Foundation to support the RIBA Norman Foster Foundation Travelling Scholarship, which I hope will have a lasting legacy – offering the chance for discovery and the inspiration for exciting new work – for generations to come.”

The deadline for submissions is 17:00 Friday 26 April 2019. Further details can be downloaded here: www.architecture.com/fosterscholarship

Since 2007, the Norman Foster Foundation, London has provided the following traveling fellowships:

2018   Steven Hutt, University of Greenwich, UK

2017   Chloe Loader, Lincoln School of Architecture and Design, UK

2016   Abel Feleke, University of Western Australia, Australia

2015   Charles Palmer, University of Sheffield, UK

2014   Moe Paxton, Bartlett, University College London, UK

2013   Sigita Burbulyte, Bath School of Architecture, UK

2012   Thomas Aquilina, Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, Scotland

2011   Sahil Bipin Deshpande, Rizvi College of Architecture, Mumbai, India

2010  Andrew Mackintosh, Scott Sutherland School of Architecture at the Robert Gordon University Aberdeen, UK

2009   Amanda Rivera, Universidad del Bío-Bío, Chile

2008   Faizan Jawed, Rizvi College of Architecture, Mumbai, India

2007   Ben Masterton-Smith, Bartlett, University College London, UK


Image: Hong Kong Peak © Steven Hutt – 2018 Norman Foster Foundation Travelling Scholarship recipient