RIBA opens 2020 Norman Foster Foundation Travelling Scholarship

February 26, 2020

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) opened today (Wednesday 26 February 2020) the applications for the 2020 Norman Foster Foundation Travelling Scholarship.

This fellowship encourages architecture students and scholars to travel anywhere in the world to pursue research on the subject of the future survival of cities and communities.

Applications are welcomed from students around the world who are enrolled in and have successfully completed, the first year of professional qualification in architecture in one of the higher education institutions invited to participate. A £7,000 grant will be awarded to one winner, which will be decided by a panel of judges including Lord Foster and RIBA President Alan Jones.

Lord Foster said: “As a student, I won a prize that allowed me to spend a summer traveling through Europe and to study first-hand buildings and cities that I knew only from the pages of books. It was a revelation – liberating and exhilarating in so many ways. Today it is the privilege of the Norman Foster Foundation to support the RIBA Norman Foster Travelling Scholarship, which I hope will have a lasting legacy – offering the chance for discovery and the inspiration for exciting new work – for generations to come.”

RIBA President Alan Jones said: “We are very grateful to the Norman Foster Foundation for their continuous generous support. This year we are inviting 428 schools of architecture from around the globe, including all RIBA-validated institutions, to nominate their talented students. The Norman Foster Travelling Scholarship gives aspiring architects the chance to carry out important international research – I would encourage all eligible to apply.”

The deadline for submissions is 17:00, Friday 24 April 2020. Further details can be downloaded here: www.architecture.com/fosterscholarship

Since 2007, the Norman Foster Foundation, London has provided the following traveling fellowships:

2019   Siti Nurafaf Ismail, University of Malaya, Malaysia

2018   Steven Hutt, University of Greenwich, UK

2017   Chloe Loader, Lincoln School of Architecture and Design, UK

2016   Abel Feleke, University of Western Australia, Australia

2015   Charles Palmer, University of Sheffield, UK

2014   Moe Paxton, Bartlett, University College London, UK

2013   Sigita Burbulyte, Bath School of Architecture, UK

2012   Thomas Aquilina, Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, Scotland

2011   Sahil Bipin Deshpande, Rizvi College of Architecture, Mumbai, India

2010  Andrew Mackintosh, Scott Sutherland School of Architecture at the Robert Gordon University Aberdeen, UK

2009   Amanda Rivera, Universidad del Bío-Bío, Chile

2008   Faizan Jawed, Rizvi College of Architecture, Mumbai, India

2007   Ben Masterton-Smith, Bartlett, University College London, UK


Image: Shigeru BanHokkaido, Japan  © Siti Nurafaf Ismail – 2019 Norman Foster Foundation Travelling Scholarship recipient